What the per-extension price includes
Some providers put IVR, queues, apps or reporting on higher plans. Ask for the feature list behind the price you are quoted.
Buyer's guide
A practical checklist for comparing cloud PBX and hosted PBX providers on what you'll actually pay and get.
In short
Choose a cloud PBX provider on your total monthly bill, not the headline extension price. Check what the per-extension price includes, how calls are billed, number and porting fees, recording, apps, contract and setup fees, Teams or CRM support, support hours and who looks after your internet line. SureTel wrote this guide and is one of the providers in the table below.
Checklist
Some providers put IVR, queues, apps or reporting on higher plans. Ask for the feature list behind the price you are quoted.
Per-second billing is cheaper for short calls than per-minute or 30-second increments with a 60-second minimum.
Check the monthly fee for each extra number and the once-off porting fee per number you keep.
Ask whether recording is included, how long recordings are kept and what longer retention costs.
Find out whether apps are included or charged per extension, and on which plan.
Month-to-month or a fixed term? Add once-off setup and per-extension setup to the first-year cost.
If your staff work in Teams or a CRM, check what integration is supported and whether it costs extra.
Know when you can reach the provider — business hours only, or 24/7 on a specific agreement.
Call quality depends on the connection. One provider for both avoids faults bouncing between suppliers.
Like for like
Published prices
Each provider's own published figures, last checked . Units differ, so use this as a starting point. Call rates, numbers, porting and contracts are in VoIP providers in South Africa compared.
| Provider | Entry price | What the base price includes |
|---|---|---|
| SureTelSources: 1, 2, 3 | R50/extension (1–100), R45 (101–300), R40 (301+) excl. VAT | All Cloud PBX features in the R50 / R45 / R40 extension price: IVR / auto-attendant menus, call queues, ring groups and hunting lists, voicemail and voicemail-to-email, time-based and public-holiday routing, reception operator panel, wallboards, browser phone, audio conference rooms, fax-to-email, call history and daily reports. |
| Switch TelecomSources: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 | Hosted Switchboard R260 per 10 extensions excl. VAT, plus a required SIP trunk | Browser and mobile softphone free per extension. |
| Euphoria TelecomSources: 1, 2 | Express R65, Enterprise R85, Call Buster R185 per extension excl. VAT | Features differ across its three plans (Express R65, Enterprise R85, Call Buster R185). |
| VoysSources: 1, 2 | R420/user (1–3 users), R365/user from the 4th, excl. VAT | Not published |
| VoxSources: 1, 2, 3 | OmniOne Core from R59, Pro from R79 per user (VAT not stated) | Mobile apps, call recording, analytics and CRM integration are on OmniOne Pro (from R79), not Core (from R59). |
| United TelecomsSources: 1, 2 | Essential R65, Classic R85 per extension excl. VAT | PC softphone and 2 devices with Classic; Essential has 1 device. |
| Telkom Business (PABX Cloud)Sources: 1, 2 | “From R65 on contract” (unit and VAT not stated) | Not published |
| SaicomSources: 1 | Not published (quote-based) | Not published |
| Black Tie VoIPSources: 1 | R99 per extension excl. VAT | Not published |
SureTel Cloud PBX costs R50 per extension/month for 1–100 extensions, R45 for 101–300 and R40 for 301+ (excl. VAT). SureTel's extension price includes every standard phone-system feature (IVR, queues, ring groups, voicemail, reporting). Only call recording, the mobile app, extra numbers and the usage-based AI features cost more. Calls start from R0.30 per minute excl. VAT — higher than some published rates — and the difference is one local provider for phones, internet and IT, with support Mon–Fri 08:00–17:00.
Prices checked 6 November 2026 — tell us if anything has changed.
FAQ
There isn't one answer for every business. The right provider depends on what the per-extension price includes, call rates and billing increments, contract terms, setup fees, apps, integrations and who supports your internet line. Compare quotes on your own monthly bill rather than headline prices.
Yes. Hosted PBX, cloud PBX and cloud PABX all describe a business phone system that runs on the provider's servers instead of a box in your office.
Published entry prices in our comparison include Switch Telecom's R260 per 10 extensions (plus a required SIP trunk), per-extension prices from R59 (Vox, VAT not stated) and R420 per user at Voys, which includes national calls within fair use. SureTel charges R50 per extension/month for 1–100 extensions, R45 for 101–300 and R40 for 301+ (excl. VAT). Checked 6 November 2026.
Not always. Check what the base price includes and the published extras. SureTel's extension price includes every standard phone-system feature (IVR, queues, ring groups, voicemail, reporting). Only call recording, the mobile app, extra numbers and the usage-based AI features cost more.
Usually, yes — eligible geographic numbers can be ported between South African providers. SureTel charges R40 once-off per number excl. VAT. Timing depends on the losing provider's response and how complete the request is.
Month-to-month gives flexibility; a fixed term can come with lower setup fees or rates. Either way, confirm the notice period and any early-cancellation costs before signing.
Get started
Prefer chat? WhatsApp SureTel →
All prices are shown excluding VAT unless stated otherwise.