SureTel

VoIP comparison 2026

VoIP providers in South Africa compared

Eight South African VoIP providers side by side, using each provider's own published prices — including where others are cheaper than SureTel.

  • Licensed SA ISP
  • ICASA 0009/CECS/AUG/09
  • Since 2010

About this comparison

What this page compares

This page compares Cloud PBX prices, call rates, geographic numbers, porting and contract terms for eight South African VoIP providers. Every figure is the provider's own published price, checked on 6 November 2026. Prices change, so confirm with each provider. SureTel wrote this page and is one of the providers listed. SureTel's extension price includes every phone-system feature (IVR, queues, ring groups, voicemail, reporting). Only call recording, the mobile app and extra numbers cost more.

  • • Last checked: 6 November 2026
  • • “Not published” means the provider gives no public figure — we do not estimate
  • • “VAT not stated” where the provider does not say whether VAT is included
  • • Sources linked for every provider

Published prices

VoIP provider prices compared

Last checked:

ProviderCloud PBX priceCalls to SA numbersGeographic numberPortingContract/setupNotes
SureTelSources: 1, 2, 3R50/extension (1–100), R45 (101–300), R40 (301+) excl. VATFrom R0.30/min excl. VATR10/month excl. VATR40 once-off per number excl. VATConfirmed on your quoteToll-free 0800/0860/0861 numbers R299/month excl. VAT; also supplies internet, Managed IT and Hosted VICIdial. SureTel wrote this page.
Switch TelecomSources: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5Hosted Switchboard R260 per 10 extensions excl. VAT, plus a required SIP trunkR0.24/min landline, R0.43/min mobile (Package 1: 30-second increments, 60-second minimum) or R0.26 / R0.52 per-secondExtra numbers R10/monthR160 once-off per numberMonth-to-month; no installation feeSIP trunk R100 for 4 channels + R25 per extra channel, or unlimited calling from R1,000/month for 4 channels.
Euphoria TelecomSources: 1, 2Express R65, Enterprise R85, Call Buster R185 per extension excl. VATNot published per destination (Call Buster quotes 29c/min)New number R125 once-offR250 per numberMonth-to-month; setup R1,500 + R65/extensionSetup fee as listed on its pricing page.
VoysSources: 1, 2R420/user (1–3 users), R365/user from the 4th, excl. VATNational calls included within fair use (500 outbound minutes per user per month, pooled)Not publishedNot publishedCancel anytimePer-user price includes national calls within the fair-use limit.
VoxSources: 1, 2, 3OmniOne Core from R59, Pro from R79 per user (VAT not stated)Cristal Voice from 15c/min, volume dependent (VAT not stated)Not publishedNot publishedMonth-to-monthCall rate depends on volume.
United TelecomsSources: 1, 2Essential R65, Classic R85 per extension excl. VATNot publishedStandalone virtual landline R135/month (VAT not stated)“Charges apply” (amount not published)Setup free for 1–10 users, R1,500 for 11–30, R2,500 for 31+
Telkom Business (PABX Cloud)Sources: 1, 2“From R65 on contract” (unit and VAT not stated)Not publishedVirtual number R99/monthNot published12–60 month termsPrice varies by contract term.
SaicomSources: 1Not published (quote-based)Not publishedNot publishedNot publishedNot publishedOffers Microsoft Teams Direct Routing.
Black Tie VoIPSources: 1R99 per extension excl. VATSold in bundles (e.g. 150 minutes R90, 1,000 minutes R450)Not publishedNot publishedNo contracts

How to read this table

  • Units differ: Switch Telecom prices per 10 extensions plus a separate SIP trunk.
  • Voys includes national calls within fair use, so its per-user price is not just a platform fee.
  • Telkom's PABX Cloud price varies by contract term.
  • The fair comparison is your own monthly bill: extensions, calls, numbers and setup.

Check the base price

What the per-extension price includes

A low starting price can leave features on higher plans or as paid extras. Check what the base price includes before comparing. This table shows only what each provider publishes, checked 6 November 2026.

ProviderFeatures in the base pricePublished extras
SureTelSources: 1, 2All Cloud PBX features in the R50 / R45 / R40 extension price: IVR / auto-attendant menus, call queues, ring groups and hunting lists, voicemail and voicemail-to-email, time-based and public-holiday routing, reception operator panel, wallboards, browser phone, audio conference rooms, fax-to-email, call history and daily reports.Call recording from R9 per extension/month (by retention period); mobile app R20 per extension/month; extra numbers R10 per number/month. Excl. VAT.
Switch TelecomSources: 1, 2, 3Browser and mobile softphone free per extension.A SIP trunk is required on top of the switchboard price. Call recording R150–R800 per 10 extensions per month, depending on retention. Teams via Cloud SBC R900/month.
Euphoria TelecomSources: 1Features differ across its three plans (Express R65, Enterprise R85, Call Buster R185).Manager login R100/month.
VoxSources: 1Mobile apps, call recording, analytics and CRM integration are on OmniOne Pro (from R79), not Core (from R59).Choose Pro for those features.
United TelecomsSources: 1PC softphone and 2 devices with Classic; Essential has 1 device.Smartphone app +R30/month per extension. Call recording +R199/month.
VoysSources: 1, 2Not publishedTeams needs a separate Voys Teams Connector licence. Storage costs apply to recorded calls.
Telkom Business (PABX Cloud)Not publishedNot published
SaicomNot publishedNot published
Black Tie VoIPNot publishedNot published

Worked example

A 10-extension office

Assumptions: 10 extensions, monthly platform fees only, excl. VAT, cheapest published plan, no handsets. Only providers whose figures are fully published are included; Vox, Telkom, Saicom and Black Tie VoIP are left out because a like-for-like total can't be worked out from their published prices.

ProviderMonthly (excl. VAT)Once-off setupHow it's worked out
SureTelR500On quote10 × R50 per extension; calls billed separately from R0.30/min. Setup confirmed on quote (not included here).
Switch TelecomR360R0R260 per 10 extensions + R100 SIP trunk (4 channels); calls billed separately; no installation fee.
Euphoria Telecom (Express)R650R2,15010 × R65; setup R1,500 + R65 per extension; call rates not published per destination.
VoysR3,815R03 × R420 + 7 × R365; includes national calls within 500 pooled minutes per user.
United Telecoms (Essential)R650R010 × R65; setup free for 1–10 users; call rates not published.

On platform fees alone, Switch Telecom is the lowest here. Voys costs more but includes national calls; the others add calls on top.

Honest view

Where SureTel fits

SureTel's per-extension price (R50/extension (1–100), R45 (101–300), R40 (301+) excl. VAT) is among the lowest published per-extension prices here, although Switch Telecom's per-10 bundle works out lower for a small office. SureTel's extension price includes every phone-system feature (IVR, queues, ring groups, voicemail, reporting). Only call recording, the mobile app and extra numbers cost more.

SureTel's call rate starts from R0.30 per minute excl. VAT, which is higher than some published rates — for example Switch Telecom's R0.24/min to landlines and Vox's volume-based rate from 15c.

The difference is one provider for phones, internet and IT, with local support from Krugersdorp, plus toll-free numbers and Hosted VICIdial for call centres. See Cloud PBX and business VoIP for details.

Before you sign

What to check before choosing

Per-second or per-minute billing

Per-minute or 30-second increments with a minimum charge make short calls cost more than the headline rate suggests.

Minimum terms

Month-to-month, 12 months or longer — and what notice is needed to leave.

Setup fees

Once-off setup, per-extension setup and installation can outweigh a few rand difference in monthly price.

Number porting fee

Porting fees range widely per number. Multiply by how many numbers you keep.

Recording storage

Ask whether call recording is included, how long recordings are kept and what extra storage costs.

Microsoft Teams integration

If your staff live in Teams, check whether the provider supports calling inside Teams and at what price.

Who supports the internet line

Call quality depends on the internet connection. One provider for both avoids faults bouncing between suppliers.

Second opinions

Independent sources

Prices checked 6 November 2026 — tell us if anything has changed.

FAQ

VoIP provider FAQs

How much does VoIP cost per month in South Africa?

Published Cloud PBX prices in this comparison range from Switch Telecom's R260 per 10 extensions, plus a required SIP trunk, to R420 per user (Voys, which includes national calls within fair use). SureTel charges R50 per extension per month excl. VAT for 1–100 extensions. Add calls, numbers and setup to compare a full monthly bill.

Which VoIP provider has the cheapest per-minute rates?

Of the published rates checked on 6 November 2026, Vox lists Cristal Voice calls from 15c per minute (volume dependent, VAT not stated) and Switch Telecom lists R0.24 per minute to landlines on its Package 1. SureTel's calls start from R0.30 per minute excl. VAT. Billing increments and minimum charges also change the real cost.

What is per-second billing and why does it matter?

Per-second billing charges only for the seconds you talk. Per-minute or 30-second increments with a 60-second minimum round short calls up, so a lower headline rate can cost more if most of your calls are short.

Can I keep my existing number when I change VoIP provider?

Usually, yes. Geographic numbers can be ported between South African providers. Porting fees differ by provider; SureTel charges R40 once-off per number excl. VAT. Timing depends on the losing provider's response and how complete the request is.

Do VoIP providers in South Africa require contracts?

It varies. Switch Telecom, Euphoria Telecom, Vox and Black Tie VoIP publish month-to-month or no-contract options, Voys allows cancellation anytime, and Telkom's PABX Cloud price applies on 12–60 month terms. Always confirm the notice period before signing.

Does a cheaper per-extension price mean a cheaper phone system?

Not always. Compare what the base price includes and the published extras. SureTel's extension price includes every phone-system feature (IVR, queues, ring groups, voicemail, reporting). Only call recording, the mobile app and extra numbers cost more. Elsewhere, Switch Telecom needs a SIP trunk on top and charges R150–R800 per 10 extensions for recording; Vox puts mobile apps and recording on OmniOne Pro rather than Core; United Telecoms adds R30 per extension for the smartphone app and R199/month for recording; Euphoria's features differ by plan. Figures checked 6 November 2026.

How do I choose a VoIP provider?

Work out your own monthly bill: extensions, expected call minutes, numbers, porting and setup. Then check billing increments, contract terms, recording, Teams support and who supports your internet line. Use independent sources alongside provider sites.

Get started

Want a SureTel quote to compare?

  • Licensed SA ISP
  • ICASA 0009/CECS/AUG/09
  • Since 2010

Prefer chat? WhatsApp SureTel →

All prices are shown excluding VAT unless stated otherwise.